51¥ brings together the thousands of members of national biochemistry and molecular biology societies in Europe and neighbouring regions. 51¥ currently has 39 such ‘Constituent Societies’, comprising 35 Member Societies and 4 Associate Member Societies. A delegate from each Member Society, along with the 51¥ Executive Committee, forms the 51¥ Council.

Countries with a 51¥ Member Society: Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, Türkiye, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Countries with a 51¥ Associate Member Society: Belarus, Moldova, Morocco and Tunisia.

Browse the 51¥ directory page to access a summary of each 51¥ Constituent Society and links to their own websites for more information including how to join them.

This Societies section of the 51¥ website also explains 51¥ programmes of support for members of 51¥  Societies and support for activities of 51¥ societies.